What I’m Reading: Ruth Culham

If I try to read at night, I fall asleep and wake up at about 2:00 AM with my glasses askew and the book or journal on the floor. I read on the plane — which is the best part of flying — or in my comfortable chair in the living room. But I read. I read all the time. I’m hopelessly addicted and I pray I will never recover.Ruth2016web-cropped

Here are a few of the current fiction and nonfiction texts I’ve enjoyed of late.

The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer

This book is dystopian fiction and my favorite genre right now. It’s part of my newly acquired collection of Latino literature: picture books, chapter books, and YA. These books are the core of a new annotated bibliography I’m creating to support Latino students and their teachers in the classroom and beyond.

The Lightning Dreamer by Margarita Engle

With every text, I recognize the importance of readers having books in which they see themselves and that grow our understandings of culture and language. The Lightning Dreamerdoes exactly that. I dare you to stop reading once you start and raving about it once you finish!

Craft of Revision by Donald Murray

I read a lot of nonfiction as well. The fifth edition of Donald Murray’s Craft of Revision is a must-read, I mean a MUST read for every writing teacher. I have every edition, 1-5. Like I said: addicted. But every time I read any Murray masterpieces, I am gobsmacked by the truth of what’s important about writing: rewriting.

Letters of Note:  An Eclectic Collection of Correspondence Deserving of a Wider Audiuence, edited by Shaun Usher

I am about two-thirds of the way through this, regularly dipping in and out for joy and amazement.

Open a World of Possible, edited by Lois Bridges

Finally, I recommend to you Open a World of Possible. Begin with any essay, but my not-so-secret favorite is Naomi Shehab Nye’s “I Will Float Through This Day.” Her writing blows me away—sings across the page, transforming my view of life with every phrase.

(Reblogged from Scholastic Publishing:  here.OWP_redbar

About Ruth Culham

RUTH CULHAM has written more than 40 books and best-selling resources illuminating both writing and the reading-writing connection for countless educators around the globe. Her groundbreaking work with the writing traits and writing from reading is the culmination of 40 years of research, practice, and passion. Ruth’s most recent books, The Writing Thief: Using Mentor Texts to Teach the Craft of Writing and Dream Wakers: Mentor Texts That Celebrate Latino Culture, are available from Stenhouse Publishers. She also conducts professional development for schools and districts and writes a regular column for The Reading Teacher.
This entry was posted in Author, Back to School, Back to School, Common Core State Standards, Education, Mentor Texts, Ruth Culham, Scholastic, Teaching writing, The Trait Lady, Traits Writing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I’m Reading: Ruth Culham

  1. Brandi Hanson says:

    I LOVE House of the Scorpion. I have read it probably 5 or 6 times since middle school.

    Thank you for coming to ARA this year! You helped me feel like there is hope for adding meaningful writing to my science classes without losing instructional time – and helping my students become better writers and better readers in the process. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

